Libguides: Guide for international students at ÅAU: Databases

Browse databases within your field of science

Types of databases:

Full-text databases include access to full-texts and references
Reference databases include references, not necessarily access to full-texts which then must be retrieved elsewhere
Citation databases include information on citations, such as how many times a text has been cited, who has cited what..

Most databases are combinations of these types, which means that they sometimes provide access to full-texts, sometimes only to an abstract

Archives and digital collections

Adam Matthew Includes collections: Archives Direct (Apartheid, CP Africa), Eighteenth Century Journals, Gender Identity & Social Change, Global Commodities, London Low Life, and Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Europeana Cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives
The Finnish Web Archive
The Migration Institute of Finland - Archives
The National Archives of Finland
The National Library of Finland - Digital collections
The National Library of Sweden - Arken Private archives – Documents left by persons who have been important to swedish cultural life and swedish cultural history and from organizations and families who have been active on the cultural scene Artists’ archives – Collections of specific artist's pictures, drawings and paintings Special book collections –Thematic collections about books and book production: rarities, book covers, bookbinding and book printing Event based collections – Analog and digital material collected from specific events
Radio and Television Archive
The Society of Swedish Literature in Finland We preserve, study and disseminate knowledge about Swedish culture in Finland
Åbo Akademi University Library - Archive collections

How to read a scholarly journal article?

Google Scholar

You can easily access the library's e-resources by using Google Scholar's library links.
Activate library links (Google Scholar -> Settings), and your search results will include full-text links for articles your university subscribes to.