Key databases at Novia
- ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) ABI Inform Global (ProQuest) provides articles and abstracts within the fields business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing etc.
- EBSCO Academic Search Elite Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) provides full text for more than 2,000 serials. Abstracts and indexing are provided for about 3,500 serials. The database covers nearly every area of academic study.
- Emerald Emerald provides full text articles in the spectrum of management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management, engineering, applied science and technology.
- Springer Link SpringerLink offers over 2,000 scholarly electronic journals, mainly in science, technics and medicine.
- Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™
- Novias Libguides i Vasa och Jakobstad / Libguides in Vasa and Jakobstad. Studerande har möjlighet att logga in på många databaser oberoende av utbildningsprogram i Novia / Students are allowed to login to other subjects guides in Vasa and Jakobstad.
- Arto Öppnas i nytt fönster ARTO är en referensdatabas för nyare inhemska artiklar. Mest hittar man från och med 1990 men det finns också rikligt med hänvisningar till äldre material. I Arto registreras löpande artiklar ur 1000 tidskrifter (ansvarstidskrifter). Registreringen sker inom en månad från utgivningsdagen. Dessutom registreras artiklar inom varje ämnesområde från otaliga andra tidskrifter och samlingsverk. Artikelposterna täcker alla ämnesområden och alla vetenskapliga nivåer. ARTO innehåller också rikligt med länkar till fulltextartiklar. Informationen i ARTO produceras av ett 40-tal vetenskapliga och allmänna bibliotek. Arto is a reference database for newer Finnish articles from 1990 onwards. There are also some references to older material included. There are all together 1000 newspapers indexed. Articles cover all fields of study on different scientific levels.
- Journal.fi Finländska vetenskapstidskrifter på nätet
- Forskning.fi Sök information om forskning i Finland
- Online vetenskapliga tidskrifter i Finland På webbplatsen som upprätthålls av De vetenskapliga samfundens delegation publiceras information angående webbpublicering. Via Sök- och Bläddra-länken kommer man till portalen, som omfattar vetenskapliga e-tidskrifter och övriga vetenskapssamfunds webbpublikationer som publiceras i Finland. Portalen inkluderar e-tidskrifter vars vetenskapliga artiklar är refereegranskade och som är fritt tillgängliga (med högst två års fördröjning från publiceringsdatum). Även andra vetenskapssamfunds publikationer tas med ifall de har allmänt informationsvärde. Nya publikationer kan anmälas till webbplatsens redaktion.
Användarvillkor för e-material / User rights for e-resources
Här hittar du användarvillkoren/ Here you can find more information about resources an user rights: FinElib Resources and user rights.
Google Scholar
A free web search engine for scientific publications
Google Scholar library links
You can easily access the library's e-resources by using Google Scholar's library links. When you have activated the library links (Google Scholar -> Settings), your search results will include fulltext links for articles your university subscribes to. The library links are also accessible via remote use, so you don't have to check the availability of the article in Nelli separately.
Google Scholar facts
Databases where login is needed
- Regs4shipsLogg in with Novia username and Novia password
- Model Course, IMO-VEGA, IMO e-books/e-readers.Staff only: Ask for username and password (siv.osterman@abo.fi)
- Reeds marine engineeringLogg in with Novia username and Novia password
Searching information, for example Open Access, using AI.
Different types of databases
Full-text databases include full-text of the material, as well as references
Reference databases include references to articles, but not necessarily the articles themselves, which often must be retrieved elsewhere
Citation databases include information on citations between articles: who has cited what and how many citations have accumulated
Please note that most databases are combinations of these types. Some of the articles in the database can be read in full-text, some are available only as abstracts.