E-book services and how they are used
Content
Contains e-books in law, financial management, taxation and foremanship.
Are the books in Alma-Finna?
Only a few can be searched individually in Alma-Finna. Go to Alma Insight Verkkokirjahylly where you will find all the books.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser.
It is not available for offline reading.
It is not available for download as a PDF.
You can print one chapter at a time.
Good to know
By creating a personal account you can make your own notes in the books.
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Content
Contains e-books and audiobooks, both non-fiction and fiction, mainly in Swedish.
Are the books in Alma-Finna?
Only a few of the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna. Go to Biblio where you will find all the books.
How can I read?
In Biblio's own app, in a browser and offline. If you read offline in a browser, you need to have downloaded Adobe Digital Editions.
It is not possible to print.
Good to know
Log in to Biblio with your library card and PIN. The username is the library card number.
Limitations
You can borrow a maximum of three books per week. The loan period is 28 days.
External customers cannot use Biblio.
Content
The Cambridge University Press collection Higher Education Textbooks contains books from various fields of science. The books are "textbooks", which are comparable to the Swedish expressions "lärobökker" or "kursbökker".
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
In a browser and offline. To download a book for offline reading, you need to create a free personal Cambridge Core account and download the Cambridge Spiral app. With the account, you can also make notes, underline, bookmark and change the font size.
You can print up to 15% of the PDF files
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Content
Ebook Central contains books from various fields of science.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
In a browser and offline. If you want to download a book for offline reading, you need to create an Ebook Central account and download Adobe Digital Editions.
You can download part of the book as a PDF.
You can print the PDF files.
Good to know
If you create a user account at Ebook Central, you can create your own "bookshelf" where you can collect books. You can also save any underlines and notes you make in the books you read in the browser.
Here is a link to Ebook Central's own user guide.
Limitations
A small number of books are limited to one or three simultaneous users, while the rest can be read by an unlimited number of users. The amount of text that can be copied to the clipboard is also limited. The loan period varies between 1–14 days.
Content
Contains e-books from various scientific fields.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
In a browser and offline. If you read offline in a browser, you need to have downloaded Adobe Digital Editions.
You can download and print up to 100 pages in PDF format.
Good to know
You can now log in with your regular ÅA username to Ebsco to save and borrow books. Old personal accounts can be merged ( read more on Ebsco's website ).
Here is a link to eBook Collection's own user guide .
Limitations
Some books are limited to one concurrent user with a loan period of 1–3 days.
Contents
Contains mainly domestic books.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books that the library has a license for can be found in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
In Ellib's own app, in a browser and offline. If you read offline in a browser, you need to have downloaded Adobe Digital Editions.
It is not possible to print.
Limitations
Loan periods vary and the number of concurrent users is limited for some books.
You can have 5 concurrent loans and 7 reservations at a time.
External customers cannot use Ellibs.
Good to know
You log in to Ellibs with your ÅA username and password.
Here is a link to Ellibs' own user guide
KauppakamariTieto Ammattikirjasto
Content
Ammattikirjasto contains Finnish books in the areas of economics, employment relations, law, leadership, sales, marketing and communication.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Only a few can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser
You can download individual chapters in PDF format
You cannot read without an internet connection
Limitations
Unlimited number of concurrent users.
Sage Research Methods
Sage Knowledge
Content
Sage Research Methods contains books primarily in research methodology and Sage Knowledge primarily in social science and humanities fields.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
In a browser.
You cannot read offline.
You can download one chapter at a time in PDF format.
You can print sections of the book.
Good to know
The books do not look like "regular" books. Cases and Datasets and some videos are not included in the library license.
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Content
ScienceDirect Ebooks contains books from various scientific fields.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser and offline.
You can download chapters in PDF format.
You can print sections from the book.
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Contents
Books in economics.
Are the books in Alma-Finna?
All books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna
Limitations
Requires login with ÅA username even if on campus.
External customers cannot use Skillport BusinessPro.
Content
A large collection of e-books in many different subject areas. The majority of the books are published by Routledge and CRC Press.
Are the books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be searched individually in Alma-Finna.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser and offline.
You can download the books as PDF files and print the PDF files. You can now also download the book in EPUB format.
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Royal society of chemistry ebooks (RSC) contains e-books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry between 1968 and 2006.
Luthers Werke contains the Weimar edition of Martin Luther's writings published in 127 volumes since 1883.
Loeb Classical Library contains classical texts in Latin, Greek and English.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile pages of virtually all books printed in England, Ireland,
Scotland, Wales and North America, as well as books in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contains full-text books, pamphlets and coinages published between 1701 and 1800.
Open access-books
Open access books are books that are freely available to everyone. 
Open access books (scientific)
DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books
Content
Books from many different scientific fields. DOAB is the most comprehensive service for scientific open access books.
Are DOAB books available in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be found by searching in Alma-Finna. You can also search directly in DOAB's own interface.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser and download as PDF files. You can print.
Good to know
DOAB contains links to open access books on external websites. One third of the books in DOAB are also available in OAPEN.
Limitations
The books are open access but may have different types of (Creative Commons) licenses.
Content
Books mainly in natural sciences, technology and health sciences, but also social sciences and humanities.
Are the InTech books available in Alma-Finna?
No, the books are not searchable in Finna. Go to InTech Open Access where you can search the entire collection.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser and download as PDF files. You can print.
Limitations
The books are open access but may have different types of (Creative Commons) licenses.
NCBI Bookshelf - eBooks on life science and healthcare
Contents
Books and documents in life sciences and healthcare.
Can the NCBI books be searched in Alma-Finna?
No, the books are not searchable in Alma-Finna. Go to the NCBI bookshelf where you can search the entire collection.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser and download as PDF files. You can print.
Limitations
The books are open access but may have different types of (Creative Commons) licenses.
OAPEN - online library of open access books
Content
Books primarily in the humanities and political science.
Are the books in Alma-Finna?
Yes, the books can be found by searching in Alma-Finna. You can also search directly in OAPEN.
How can I read?
You can read in a browser and download as PDF files. You can print.
Good to know
Two-thirds of the books in OAPEN are also available in the sister service DOAB.
Limitations
The books are open access but may have different types of (Creative Commons) licenses.
Open access-book (other)
Other open access books
Book Society - Norwegian Classics
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library - classic Christian books
Classics Library - Finnish and Swedish-language Finnish literature
Literature Bank - Swedish fiction from Sweden
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are useful sources of verified information. You can find them in Alma-Finna by selecting Databases A-Z under Search functions . On the right under category you can narrow down to dictionaries or encyclopedias .
Examples of dictionaries are: Mot Kielipalveu, Svenska Akademins ordbok and Oxford English Dictionary. Reference works include: Nationalencyclopedia, Biographical dictionary for Finland and Uppslagsverket Finland.