Gå till huvudinnehållet
Det verkar som att du använder Internet Explorer 11 eller en äldre version. Den här webbplatsen fungerar bäst med moderna webbläsare som de senaste versionerna av Chrome, Firefox, Safari och Edge. Om du fortsätter med den här webbläsaren kan du få oväntad

E-books: E-book platforms

Cambridge University Press Higher Education Textbooks

Cambridge University Press Higher Education Textbooks focuses on -- as the name already gives it away -- textbooks. The  collection has around 1000 textbooks from all branches of science.

Are CUP Higher Education Textbooks included in searches in Alma?
Yes, almost all books are included in Alma. You can also use CUP Higher Education Textbook's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
Requires creating a Cambridge account
PDF
Up to 15 %
Print-outs
Up to 15 %

Good to know
You can read the textbooks online in a web browser. In order to access offline reading and personalised features (such as annotating, bookmarks, printing and copy/paste), you will need to create a free Cambridge Core account. For offline reading you also need the Cambridge Spiral app (Windows, OS X, Android 8 or above, iOS 10.0 or above).

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of sumltaneous users.

DOAB

DOAB contains around 50 000 open access e-books. Covered areas include history, language studies, law and political science, philosophy, religion and social science.

Are DOAB books included in searches in Alma?
Yes, almost all DOAB books are included in Alma. You can also use DOAB's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
PDF
Print-outs

Good to know
DOAB contains records of open access books available on other websites. A third of the books are also available through OAPEN, which is maintained by the same organisation.

Limitations
The books are open access, but may have been issued with some limitations and Creative Commons licenses.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central is a vast collection of over 200 000 e-books from all branches of science.

Are Ebook Central books included in searches in Alma?
Yes, almost all books are included in Alma, but details such as subtitles and co-authors can be missing. You can also use Ebook Central's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
Requires an Adobe ID
PDF
Parts of a book
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Good to know
You can store books (and annotations made when reading in a web browser) on a "bookshelf" if you create an Ebook Central account. Ebook Central is the largest collections of e-books accessible through the library. New titles are added frequently and some titles may be removed from the collection.

Limitations
While the greater part can be read by an unlimited number of users, a small amount of books are limited to either one or three simultaneous users. The amount of text you can copy is also limited. Books can be borrowed for 1–14 days.

Ebsco eBook Collection

About 250 acquired e-books are available in Ebsco eBook Collection.

Are Ebsco eBook Collection books included in Alma?
Yes, the books are included in Alma. You can also use Ebsco eBook Collections' own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete books (offline)
Requires an Ebsco account and Adobe ID
PDF
Up to 100 pages

Print-outs
Up to 100 pages

Good to know
You can also use a Google account (e.g. Gmail), when you need to log in to borrow an e-book.

Limitations
Most books are limited to one simultaneous user. Books can be borrowed for 1–3 days.

Elgar online

Elgar online compromises e-books in Law and Social & Political Sciences collections.

Are Elgar online e-books included in Alma?
Yes.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete books (offline)
PDF
One chapter at a time
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount simultaneous users.

de Gruyter eBooks

de Gruyter eBooks holds a small number of acquired e-books.

Are de Gruyter books included in Alma?
Yes.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
E-books in epub requires Adobe ID
PDF
One chapter at a time
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Good to know
Most de Gruyter books are not available in a single file, but rather divided into separate files by chapter.

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of simultaneous users.

John Benjamins eBooks

John Benjamins eBooks holds a small number of acquired e-books. Some open access e-books are also available.

Are John Bejamins e-books included in Alma?
Yes, the ones that the library has acquired.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow compete books (offline)
Requires Adobe ID
PDF
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Good to know
It looks like it should be possible to read books in a web browser, but the feature doesn't seem to work.

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of simultaneous users.

JSTOR DDA and EBA

JSTOR DDA and EBA hold over 100 000 e-books from multiple scientific disciplines

Are JSTOR DDA and EBA books included in Alma?
Yes, the books are included in Alma.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
PDF
One chapter at a time
Print-outs

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of simultaneous users.

OAPEN

The OAPEN Library contains open access e-books. Most e-books are found under the humanities and social science. While most e-books are in English, a substantial amount are in Dutch and German.

Are OAPEN books included in Alma?
Yes, almost all are included in Alma. You can also use OAPEN's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
PDF
Print-outs

Good to know
As much as two thirds of the books in AOPEN are also available through DOAB (both are maintained by the same organisation).

Limitations
The books are open access, but may have been issued with some limitations and Creative Commons licenses.

Sage Research Methods | Sage Knowledge

Sage Research Methods and Sage Knowledge contain roughly 1000 and 4000 books, respectively. A good source for research methodology books in social sciences, and arts and science.

Are Sage books included in Alma?
Yes, almost all are. Do try the intuitive interface in Sage Research Methods and (though more ordinary) Sage Knowledge.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books to read (offline)
PDF
One chapter at a time
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Good to know
The books don't look like "real" books, but rather like normal web pages. The sections Cases and Datasets and some videos are not included in the library license and therefor not available.

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of simultaneous users.

ScienceDirect Ebooks

ScienceDirect Ebooks contains around 40 000 e-books from multiple scientific disciplines

Are ScienceDirect books included in Alma?
Yes, the books are included in Alma. You can also use ScienceDirect's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
PDF
One chapter at a time
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of simultaneous users.

SpringerLink Books

SpringerLink Books comprises 10 000 e-books. A large chunk consists of conference proceedings in ICT, many available as open access.

Are SpringerLink Books included in Alma?
Yes. You can also use Springer's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
PDF
Some books only one chapter at a time
Print-outs
Parts of a book

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount simultaneous users.

Taylor & Francis Ebooks

Taylor & Francis e-book collections comprise over 10 000 e-books from multiple scientific disciplines

Are T&F books included in Alma?
Yes, the books are included in Alma. You can also use Taylor & Francis's own interface.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
PDF
Print-outs

Good to know
Books included in the Taylor & Francis Backfile collection have to be opened from the landing page on Taylor & Francis (not from individual chapters).

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount of simultaneous users.

Wiley Ebooks

Wiley Ebooks holds a small number of acquired e-books.

Are Wiley books included in Alma?
Yes.

How can I read?

Web browser
Borrow complete e-books (offline)
PDF
Some books only one chapter at a time
Print-outs

Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited amount simultaneous users.