Get started
1. Go to Zotero.org, select download and go through the download steps. The program works on Windows, macOS and Linux. Zotero is downloaded as a standalone client/database to your computer. Note! It is recommended to close your word processing program before starting the download. Note! Åbo Akademi staff should download Zotero from the Software Center!
2: Download Zotero Connector . Zotero Connector is an add-on to your browser that is used to import references into the program. You can "pin" the add-on so that it becomes visible in your browser.
3: Create an account. This is optional, but required to access your references from another computer and to be able to use group libraries. The library has an institutional license for Zotero, which means that if you create an account with your abo.fi address, you get access to unlimited storage space. Without the license, you only have limited storage space.
4: Open your word processor and check that the extension is installed. It is usually installed automatically, but otherwise follow the instructions to install it manually .
If the add-in was installed correctly, you should see a Zotero menu at the top (crossed out) right of your word processor.
Panels, menus and settings
After you install and open the program, you will see three panels: your library on the left, your references in the middle, and when you click on a reference, you will see the metadata panel on the right.
My Library (panel on the left): here you see your collections. You see "My Library", where all your references are visible, as well as your collections. To create a new collection, you only need to right-click on "My Library" and select "New Collection", and if you want to create a sub-collection, right-click on a collection and select "New Subcollection". That way, you can arrange and organize your references however you want.
In the panel on the left there is also "My publications", where you can enter your own publications, "Duplicate Items", where you can see if you have imported the same reference twice or more and merge them, "Unfiled Items", where you see references from your library that you do not currently have in a collection, as well as the "Trash", where references you have deleted are visible.
Under "Trash" you also see "Group libraries", where you see which group libraries you are included in. Several people can be invited into a group library. Everyone invited can see, use and enter references. To create a group library, go to "New Library" under "File" and select "New Group...". ATTENTION! This requires that you have created a user account.
At the bottom left you will also see tags: these are labels associated with your references. You can view and edit tags by clicking on a reference and scroll down to the "Tags" tab at the bottom of the metadata panel. Some references have existing tags when imported, but you can also create your own (or remove them entirely).
Your references (panel in the middle): here you see which references you have in which collection. Note that different kinds of references have different symbols, so you can immediately see what is entered as a book, a book chapter, an article, a blog post, a web page, and so on.
Metadata panel (panel on the right): when you click on a reference, you will see the information about your selected reference. You can also edit the information, just click on the row you want to change (eg change the reference type from book to book chapter, or add/remove other information) and select from the available options or enter/delete the information you want to change.
After you install and open the program, you will see three panels: your library on the left, your references in the middle, and when you click on a reference, you will see the metadata panel on the right.
My Library (panel on the left): here you see your collections. You see "My Library", where all your references are visible, as well as your collections. To create a new collection, you only need to right-click on "My Library" and select "New Collection", and if you want to create a sub-collection, right-click on a collection and select "New Subcollection". That way, you can arrange and organize your references however you want.
In the panel on the left there is also "My publications", where you can enter your own publications, "Duplicate Items", where you can see if you have imported the same reference twice or more and merge them, "Unfiled Items", where you see references from your library that you do not currently have in a collection, as well as the "Trash", where references you have deleted are visible.
Under "Trash" you also see "Group libraries", where you see which group libraries you are included in. Several people can be invited into a group library. Everyone invited can see, use and enter references. To create a group library, right-click on the icon on the right directly above "My Library". ATTENTION! This requires that you have created a user account.
At the bottom left you will also see tags: these are labels associated with your references. You can view and edit tags by clicking on a reference and selecting the "Tags" tab in the metadata panel. Some references have existing tags when imported, but you can also create your own (or remove them entirely).
Your references (panel in the middle): here you see which references you have in which collection. Note that different kinds of references have different symbols, so you can immediately see what is entered as a book, a book chapter, an article, a blog post, a web page, and so on.
Metadata panel (panel on the right): when you click on a reference, you will see the information about your selected reference. You can also edit the information, just click on the row you want to change (eg change the reference type from book to book chapter, or add/remove other information) and select from the available options or enter/delete the information you want to change.
Settings
You will find "Settings" under the "Edit" tab at the top of the left side. At the bottom of that menu is "Preferences":
In the "General" tab you can change the language settings of the program, and in the "Sync" tab you can log in and link your account if you have one. This is also how you can use your references on different computers.
You will find "Preferences" under the "Edit" tab at the top of the left side. At the bottom of that menu is "Preferences":
Under the "General" tab you can change the language settings of the program, and under the "Sync" tab you can log in and link your account if you have one. This is also how you can use your references on different computers.
