Import using Connector
The easiest way to import references is by using the Connector extension. You can directly import the metadata of references from a web page, for example a library's, with Connector. Click on the add-on and import the metadata of the reference directly into Zotero.
The screenshot shows a book in Alma (abo.finna.fi). The highlighted symbol at the top right is the Connector add-on - if you press it, the reference will be imported into Zotero as a book. With the help of the symbol you immediately see what Connector identifies the reference as - check that it is correct! When you click on the symbol, you can also choose which collection you want it to end up in, as well as provide the work with tags.
Note! Always double check the metadata you import. It is possible that Zotero registers references, for example a book/e-book, as a web page and therefore does not retrieve the correct information as different types of references require different pieces of information. However, you can see this when importing with the Connector as they have different symbols.
Import references manually
In the menu bar there are a few different symbols, eg. a blank document and a magic wand. The blank document, “New Item”, allows you to create a reference manually, creating an empty reference record where you can fill in the information yourself.
This can be laborious but is sometimes necessary. It is, however, useful if you only want to refer to a book chapter, for example in an anthology, and you are unable to import the information about only the chapter using Connector. There are several available options under "More" at the bottom.
Using the magic wand, “Add Item(s) by Identifier”, you can import references by ISBN, DOI, or another identifier if it is indexed somewhere that Zotero can import it from. In other words, this doesn't always work, but might be worth a try.
Up in the menu bar there are a few different symbols, eg. a green plus and a magic wand. The green plus, “New Item”, allows you to create a reference manually, creating an empty reference record where you can fill in the information yourself.
This can be laborious but is sometimes necessary. It is, however, useful if you only want to refer to a book chapter, for example in an anthology, and you are unable to import the information about only the chapter using Connector. There are several available options under "More" at the bottom.
Using the magic wand, “Add Item(s) by Identifier”, you can import references by ISBN, DOI, or another identifier if it is indexed somewhere that Zotero can import it from. In other words, this doesn't always work, but might be worth a try.
Import/export using files
Many search engines and databases have some kind of export function. This can apply to individual records or several hundreds or thousands of hits. It would be impossible to import thousands of references one by one, for example all search results in a search. In these cases, it is easiest to use the page's export function. When exporting, you are usually asked to select a format (EndNote, BibTeX, RIS, etc.). RIS is compatible with Zotero and is therefore a good starting point.
A screenshot from the database Scopus. Note that most databases look different and the terminology may vary, but all operate with a similar logic .
When you have chosen the file format and which information you want to export, you download a file, eg. scopus(1).ris if you are exporting from Scopus. You can then import the file directly into Zotero. You can find “Import” under "File":
You then select "A file" in "Where do you want to import from?" and select the file you downloaded. You can then choose whether, for example, you want to place the material in the imported file in a new collection.
If you want to send your references or your collections to someone else or, for example, transfer them to Excel, you can also export them by right-clicking on the collection and selecting "Export Collection".
You then choose a suitable format for what you wish to do. For example, if you want to transfer the collection to Excel, it can be worthwhile to choose CSV, which you then import into Excel, or if you want to send your references to someone else, you can choose RIS and send the file to them so that they can import them in the same way as above.
In this way, you can also transfer files to other reference management programs, such as Mendeley.
Many search engines and databases have some kind of export function. This can apply to individual records or several hundreds or thousands of hits. It would be impossible to import thousands of references one by one, for example all search results in a search. In these cases, it is easiest to use the page's export function. When exporting, you are usually asked to select a format (EndNote, BibTeX, RIS, etc.). RIS is compatible with Zotero and is therefore a good starting point.
A screenshot from the database Scopus. Note that most databases look different and the terminology may vary, but all operate with a similar logic .
When you have chosen the file format and which information you want to export, you download a file, eg. scopus(1).ris if you are exporting from Scopus. You can then import the file directly into Zotero. You can find “Import” under "File":
You then select "A file" in "Where do you want to import from?" and select the file you downloaded. You can then choose whether, for example, you want to place the material in the imported file in a new collection.
If you want to send your references or your collections to someone else or, for example, transfer them to Excel, you can also export them by right-clicking on the collection and selecting "Export Collection".
You then choose a suitable format for what you wish to do. For example, if you want to transfer the collection to Excel, it can be worthwhile to choose CSV, which you then import into Excel, or if you want to send your references to someone else, you can choose RIS and send the file to them so that they can import them in the same way as above.
In this way, you can also transfer files to other reference management programs, such as Mendeley.