Skip to main content

Reference management (RefWorks & Mendeley): Save references

Save references

Most databases let you save a reference directly to your reference manager. Look for options that may say "Export", "Import" or "Save to" and choose to save to the reference manager you are using. Use provided web browser bookmarklets to quickly save ordinary web sites as references!

Different ways to save references

  • Save and export when you're using a database
  • Use web broser bookmarklets (Save to RefWorks, Mendeley Web Importer)
  • Search and save using the reference manager's own database
  • Upload a fulltext pdf; references will (in most cases) be extracted automatically
  • Manual entry should not be forgotten and can be very effective

 

Which method should I use?
Feel your way! You won't manage using only one method as none covers all databases. More complete metadata is usually received by using the databases' dedicated "Save reference" buttons than when using the reference managers' web browser bookmarklets. Do however try the bookmarklets as they, too, will come in handy.

RefWorks: Save references, examples

Save references inside RefWorks. Upload pdf fulltexts, import reference collections from other reference managers (Mendeley) or enter references manually. You can perform searches - and save references - in a few integrated databases, mainly relevant databases being Alma and PubMed.

References are automatically extracted when you upload fulltext pdfs. Even nicer, RefWorks will aid you when entering references manually. Start typing the title of the reference and RefWorks will provide the rest. Very convenient!

Alma and Tritonia. Choose "Export to RefWorks". You can also use the Save to RefWorks web browser bookmarklet.

FIXED! Alma and Tritonia. Diacritics (eg. åäöéà) don't transfer when you use "Export to RefWorks" in Alma and Tritonia. You can, of course, edit and correct a reference in RefWorks post export. Diacritis do transfer when using the Save to RefWorks bookmarklet.

Alma and Tritonia. Export of some references from the "E-articles (PCI)" tab will fail. If so, move on to database/article and make your export from there.

Google Scholar. To be able to use direct export, go to Settings Bibliography manager and choose RefWorks.

Protip! Activate "Abo Academy University Library" under Settings Library Links. Now you have access to library licensed full text articles in Google Scholar.

Other databases/sources. Depending on the database/source, look for possible "Export" or dedicated "RefWorks" buttons. If not availbe, see if it's possible to save the reference as a common reference file, eg. RIS. Also, you can try your new best buddy, the Save to RefWorks bookmarklet.

RefWorks: Save to RefWorks

  • A web browser bookmarklet that enables you to save references with your web browser
  • Use anywhere on the web: databases and ordinary web sites
  • Can save the actual full text pdf (if available - not foolproof)

1. Go to Tools and add Save to RefWorks. Having a visibile bookmarks bar makes it more convenient to use. See how you enable the bookmarks bars: Firefox | Chrome)

2. Click on the Save to RefWorks bookmarklet when you want to save a reference. A windows appears on the right hand side of the screen; check that that the data is correct and click "Save to RefWorks".

3. Check "Save the contents of this web page?" to save the actual web page. You don't get a 1:1 copy of the web page, but text and in some cases parts of the page design (e.g. pictures).

4. If the web site/search list contains many references, choose which ones you want to save. Saving multiple references/pdf fulltexts at the same time (e.g. from a journal table of contents) may fail. If so, move on to the article page and save the reference there.

Mendeley: Save references, examples

Mendeley Desktop. Save references by uploading pdf fulltexts, using the integrated database or importing reference files (RIS, XML, BibTeX). Manual entry is also, of course, possible. If you have a large fulltext pdf collection, you can use the option "watch folders" to automatically index your fulltext pdfs as refrences.

Please note that some references in Mendeley's integrated database are user generated and sometimes prove out to be insufficient.

Mendeley Web Library, your online account, works in similar fashion as Mendeley Desktop, offering the same options to save references. Additionally, Mendeley Web Library lets you save references you come across when you browse groups and profile pages in the Mendeley "community".

Alma and Tritonia. Choose "Export to RIS" and open the file in Mendely Desktop or simply drag the file onto Mendeley Web Library. You can also use Mendeley Web Importer, but check that the data is transferred correctly.

Google Scholar. Use Mendeley Web Importer. Read more about Mendeley Web Importer below.

Protip! Activate "Abo Academy University Library" under Settings Library Links. Now you have access to library licensed full text articles in Google Scholar.

Other databases/sources. Depending on the database/source, look for possible "Mendeley" buttons or export the reference to e.g. RIS. Or why not try Mendeley Web Importer?

Mendeley: Mendeley Web Importer

  • A web browser bookmarklet that enables you save references with your web browser
  • Use anywhere on the web: databases and ordinary web sites
  • Can save the actual full text pdf (if available - not foolproof)
  • Incompatible with Ebook Central

1. Go to the Mendeley web site and add Mendeley Web Importer to your web browser.

2. Click on the red Mendeley icon when you want to save a reference.

3. A window appears when you click on the Mendeley icon. Check the extracted data and choose "Save".

4. If the web site/search list contains many references, choose which ones you want to save. Saving multiple references/pdf fulltexts at the same time (e.g. from a journal table of contents) may fail. If so, move on to the article page and save the reference there.